Had a Scare


So I got admitted to the hospital over the weekend. Ya, I know, great right? Have been dealing with chest pains, arm pains, and shortness of breath (SOB) (my new favorite acronym) for awhile now, but last Thursday lightheadedness and arm tingling got tacked on. So I went to the ER, and as soon as I said chest pains I was in baby.

Spent the weekend, had all manner of tests done, EKG, blood, CAT scan, Heart Cath, etc…Had already been seeing a cardiologist so I’d already had a stress test and echo cardiogram done and EVERYTHING HAS COME BACK CLEAN. No cardio issues…..well, caveat to that is during the heart cath, they found my heart slightly enlarged, a minor vein 50% blocked, and some sort of “efficiency” rating was not what it was sposed to be. Guess I’ll find out more about that later.

BTW, as of today, I’m sober 7 days. Yay. Me.

So today I’m still having SOB issues. WTF. I just got out of the hospital Monday, and here it is Thursday and I still don’t feel right. Chest pain and arm pain not so much, but still with the SOB. Yaaaa, SOB. I just love writing SOB. Called up my primary care doc and they’re going to work me in this afternoon.

My take on it? I’ve drunk enough in the last 12 years that I’ve killed the part of my brain that tells the body to remember to breathe. So then I have to manually breathe deep now. I dunno, that’s just my opinion. And we all know what those are like. However, mine always smell like fresh mountain air with crisp clear stream and dandelion mixed in. pbbbtt.

If I’ve already caused myself irreversible damage by my drinking I’m gonna kick my ass. All these years I was sure it would be my liver or brain that would go. Not my heart or frigging lungs. I don’t know yet what I’m gonna do, but I’m gonna kick my ass if this is not fixable.

I will fix this. I will beat this.

I will draw you Saruman as poison is drawn from a wound.

***Update***

doc said I’m going to live.  who knows what problem is, could be a virus, could be allergies, could be onset of asthma, but it’s not lung related and it’s not heart related.

~ by sobriety6923 on February 10, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
