Your Loved Ones Will watch You Die


This is something that has weighed on me for awhile now, but like most other things, I just haven’t cared enough to do anything about it.

About a year or so ago, I was having one of my moments of clarity and had been sober for a few days.  I was discussing it with my wife and I mentioned being sober was like coming out of a fog.  (being drunk was) Like wandering around in a haze and not being able to see.  Which, I spose is not too surprising b/c of what being drunk is like.  Wonderfuly, wonderfully drunk and free from worries, cares and sobriety.

So anyway, as part of this discussion, my wife says to me in an exasperated tone “You’re Killing Yourself!”  (which as I’ m sitting here writing this on a saturday morning trying to manage the boy the girl and the wife I wish I was)

When you finally go, your loved ones will be there and they’ll have to watch

Do you want that?

If you don’t care about your own health do you at least care that your loved ones will have to watch?

think on that (before) the next time you go on a bender.

~ by sobriety6923 on February 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
