Hashing


I do bike hashes.  Every other sunday.  If you’ve got half a mind to hash, that’s all you need.  Bikes + Beer = fun!

What is Hashing?

In addition to the traditional foot hashes, there are also bike hashes.

I do bike hashes with a local group where I’m at called The Lost Hares.  We meet every other sunday and do bike hashes usually anywhere from 15-20 miles, mix of on and off road.  It’s hellafun. I love biking and I love drinking so these are my people.

One of the things you learn when you start getting sober is that you have to give up a lot of your old friends and old activities b/c they are/were all centered around drinking.  All your old friends were your bar fly friends and without drinking you really didn’t have anything in common.  I am not willing to give up hashing.

Moderation will be/is key for my sobriety’ishness.  (again with the rationalization)

I do not see myself ever being completely dry.  That said, I have been moderating at an acceptable level (to my own rationalized brain anyway). nothing during the week, a few beers saturday afternoon, then a few beers sunday on the hash.  I spose some would say that’s playing with fire.  Some would say an alcoholic can never truly moderate.  But I would argue that I am.  Compared to what I used to be like, I sure as hell am.  Down from at least 10oz of pure liquor EVERY NIGHT to a few beers on the weekend?  that’s what I would call moderation.  And I could have had more.  But I didn’t.  I remembered that I had obligations, and things to do.

Now, am I trying to convince myslelf it’s ok?  Am I trying to convince you?  I don’t know.  Ideally, I wouldn’t have to justify anything to myself.  I guess it’s more of a cause and effect thing.  If I drink too much, this will happen….If I don’t drink this will happen….then I have to live with the consequences.

the current plan is to keep hashing, and moderating.  we’ll see how that works.

~ by sobriety6923 on May 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
