You look like I need a drink


…and that was all I had to say.

Went to Disney for the second time last weekend See first time here.  It was less than “special”.  It was just a bunch of little things that added up and we didn’t have a “great” time.  A good time was had to be sure, but it was more work than it was enjoyable.  I was coming off of being sick, my wife and son were just getting sick, it was hot, and crowded, and both kids were crabby, and myself and my wife were short with them, and, and, and…Everything from packing to go, to getting there, to being there was just too much of a chore.  Needless to say we don’t need to go back anytime soon.

So it was a rough weekend.  Well, Tuesday back was the first “real” day of summer vacation.  Wife is off from work, daughter’s out of school.  I come home yesterday and just walking in the door I can tell it’s been a day.  So my wife had a rough day with them.  1st day of summer vacation only 2 months to go, woohoo!  Well of course we’ve been drinking all weekend at Disney.  Drinks at the pool bar, drinks from the shop, drinks.  Funny how that mf’r works its way back in to your life through the smallest cracks.  Well, last night I say to her “ you look like I need a drink”, and of course she’s ready for one.

I DELIBARATELY USED MY WIFE’S STRESS TO FILL MY ALCOHOL NEED.

well lemme take care of that for you, I’ll be back in a jiffy.  Wild Turkey 101 please!  And I only feel a little guilty about it. Fuck.  Yup, I’m still not right.  I’m moderating for now, with my wife and kids at the house.  What’s going to happen next time they leave me alone for awhile?  I know the answer, and it’s not pretty.  But it doesn’t have to be.  It doesn’t have to be.  It doesn’t have to be.  It (excuse me I’m trying to bang this in my head here) doesn’t have to be.

They’ll be gone, the safety’ll be off, and I can drink myself delirious.  Or, I can go to meetings, and call anybody from the call list to keep me sober, or any number of things to keep myself busy besides drink.  But I prolly won’t.  Idiot.  Yup.

~ by sobriety6923 on May 26, 2010.

One Response to “You look like I need a drink”

  1. Seems like it’s a fore gone conclusion, minds made up and there’s no way out. The liquor wins

Leave a Reply

 
