Happy Birthday to Me.


Made it!

Made it made it made it made it. You, dear reader, just do not know how satisfying it is to say that. Srsly. My morbid fascination with death can be put away and shelved now for awhile, until I find something else to OCD about I spose.

Thank You to those that have already, and have yet to wish me Happy Birthday today.

The path I was on even just 6 months ago….I would not be alive today. I believe that with all my heart. Chest pains and all which by the way I haven’t had in over 30 days since I’ve been sober that long now.

I’m at work today, but at least it’s a short day. Working Fridays in a 9/80 are only 8 hours vs the normal 9. That 1 hour does make a difference believe it or not.

I’ve already received several birthday wishes, and each one of them is an affirmation to me that the sender will prolly never know. I spose the folks that peruse this blog will have an inkling, but the ones that don’t know about my struggles will drop by, wish me well, and then go on about their day never knowing the appreciation I’m taking from each and every one of them. This is the first birthday in a loooong time that I’m actually appreciating (12 years maybe?). Too long have they been just another day.

As an aside, my wife and I are doing better. Still far from leave it to beaver or any other perfect sitcom marriage, but we’re doing better. Last night my wife says to me “I’ve felt closer to you this month of July, than I have all year. I just want you to know that.” Best.Birthday.Present.Ever. I’ve been really trying to change and make a conscious effort to let her know how much I love her, and the kids. Seems to be working – Keep at it.

I’ve also received some birthday money from my folks, which is always nice. Will prolly use it to go out to dinner tonight. I may even have a couple beers. May. But maybe I won’t. I really don’t need to, and the “want” is a mere whisper from the fog horn/jet engine/fourth quarter winning drive touchdown football crowd noise that it used to be.

~ by sobriety6923 on July 23, 2010.

4 Responses to “Happy Birthday to Me.”

  1. Now sing along with me…

    Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you, happy birthday oh sobriety! happy birthday to you!…and many more.
    🙂

  2. Happy Birthday my friend! I knew you would make it! Welcome to the land of old! Please enjoy this fabulous day and bask in your 31 day accomplishment! I wonder if your wife knows your achievement. If she doesn’t, I’m sorry for her, this would be another chance for her to love you more!! So, tonight, go to dinner with your family, eat cake, don’t have beer, have what you’ve been working towards sobriety! Proud for you!
    Then when you get home and the kids are asleep–have SEX! (smile)

  3. thanks guys. I don’t know if there are words that can communicate my appreciation. thank you.

  4. what, there’s no “like” button? haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
