Playlists


I recently purchased a new cell phone after about 2 and a half years. Had an old flip phone non smart phone beater. Upgraded to a Samsung Galaxy S smarthphone. Thing’s pretty sweet, and is pretty much what I wanted, which is an all in one. MP3 player, internet browser, video player, games, calendar, and oh ya, a phone.

Over the years I’ve accumulated thousands of mp3’s from various sources and am finally going through all of them and parsing (sorry, engineering parlance there. Read: sorting) them all into different playlists I’d like to listen to depending on my moods. They are as follows:

_Gold Starz (note the underscore so it’s sorted at the top of the list alphabetically, these are the A teamers)

All For You (live) (Sister Hazel live version of the song. One of those I could just listen to on its own over and over)

Amazing Grace (on its own over & over)

Angry Again (good bunch of songs for when I feel like getting some aggression therapy through music. Listening to this stuff at full tilt will just bleed your anger out man.)

Bohemian Rhapsody (I see a little silhouette of a man scadamoosh scadamoosh will you do the fandango….)

Chill (songs that are just good to chill to. These would be good 420 songs if I actually did that sort of thing)

Dance (duh)

Oldie’s (most of these are from my wife’s mp3 list, but I’ve got all of them on my phone and some of them are good. 16 gig onboard storage with a 32 gig ext SD card yo!)

Sappy (slow dance, romance, wine me dine me 69 me type songs)

Themesong (this is my wife and I’s old song. Which, in discussing with her the other day, I guess isn’t really our song anymore b/c she says we’re not really those people anymore. Disturbing. Chalk another one up on the list of things to resolve when we finally go to counseling.)

WWRY (we will rock you by queen. My son loves this one and can listen to it over and over. And over.)

Xanadu (I don’t care if you think it’s gay. I feel pretty and witty, and ONJ had some great songs from this movie)

YFTEP (ahhh, yearning for the exotic past. Finally, the point of this whole post)

Yearning For the Exotic Past

I guess I really am a Romantic at heart. You’d never know it, the way I act and the way I let everyday life beat me down, but I am. I’ve mentioned in a previous post about a 9th grade English teacher and how we learned about the tenets of Romance in literature. One of, well I guess the only thing that stuck with me from it was YFTEP. So in this playlist, I’ve got a bunch of songs that just take me back to a day long ago, or, not so long ago, back to when the romanticized version of it in my memory was so much more simpler and pure, and just has that good feeling. Remember the good, forget the bad, y’know?

The song that gave me the idea for this post is from Hoobastank “The Reason”. It’s basically a song about having a new reason to live, and live clean at that. This song came out right about the time my wife gave birth to our daughter. At the time, it was like, “ok, I have a daughter now, I have to start living better and stop drinking”. Well, that didn’t happen. But, the hooks are still there. I’m finally learning this year, 6 years later how not to drink, and it’s not b/c of anything so noble as I have a child and I need to live better now. Rather, it’s just b/c my health is finally starting to be affected immediately after drinking. Way more than just hangovers. Like permanent damage is imminent if I don’t stop. So I’m finally stopping. Granted there’s still starts and fits here and there, but if my drinking were graphed out, there would be a significant downward trend of volume vs time in 2010. Yay.me.pbbbbttt.

Anyway, other stuff in the YFTEP playlist is as follows:

Runaway Train – Soul Asylum [Relevance: old friends themesong]

Road to Nowhere – Ozzy [Relevance: yup, thats me]

Remember Yesterday – Skid Row [Relevance: yftep]

The Reason – Hoobastank [Relevance: see above]

Rock You Like a Hurricane – Scorpions [Relevance: just a song that takes me back to my youth]

Ocean Avenue – Yellowcard [Relevance: one of those remember the good old days songs]

Mama I’m Comin Home – Ozzy [Relevance: you can always (never) come home]

Love Will Keep Us Alive – Eagles

Joey – Concrete Blonde [Relevance: song about a drunk and how his loved one is there for him if hell just choose her instead of the bottle]

It Must Have Been Love – Roxette

Is This Love – Whitesnake

In the Air Tonight – Phil Collins

I’ll Remember You – Skid Row [Relevance: youve helped me through a lot of hard times and I love you for it]

I Wish You Were Here – Incubus [Relevance: the sky resembles a backlit canopy with holes punched in it]

I Wish It Would Rain Down – Phil Collins [Relevance: I feel like shit and I want to suffer]

Hold Me Thrill Me Kiss Me Kill Me – U2 [Relevance: after your kiss theres nothing else to live for b/c your kiss is the pinnacle of existence, so kill me]

Here I Go Again – Whitesnake [Relevance: I cant really articulate this one, it is what it is]

Graduation – Vitamin C [Relevance: life transitions]

Good Riddance (Time of Your Life) – Green Day

The Good Life – Weezer [Relevance: its been awhile since I was out on the floor shakin booty makin sweet love]

The Freshman – Verve Pipe [Relevance: were young and we know everything, or thought we did]

Free Fallin – Tom Petty [Relevance: I love her but I hurt her so now I hurt]

Forever – Papa Roach

Fool For Your Loving – Whitesnake

Float On – Modest Mouse [Relevance: come what may, just keep goin]

Find a Way to My Heart – Phil Collins [Relevance: if you can figure me out, then you have earned my undying everlasting love. Good luck.]

Father to Son – Phil Collins [Relevance: imparting of wisdom]

Far Behind – Candlebox [Relevance: youve moved on, but I havent]

A Face in the Crowd – Tom Petty [Relevance: what would it be like if we never met]

Everything I do (I do it for you) – Bryan Adams

Everybody’s Free (To wear sunscreen) – Baz Luhrman [Relevance: just a freaking awesome song. Taken from a column by Chicago Tribune writer Mary Schmich. Life lessons for you and youre too young and stupid to digest them]

Elderly Woman Behind The Counter – Pearl Jam [Relevance: its been years since Ive seen you and we used to have something but here we are again and both our lives have moved on]

Drift & Die – Puddle of Mud

Do I Have to Say the Words – Bryan Adams

The Distance – Cake [Relevance: he keeps going even tho its a futile effort]

Creep – Radiohead [Relevance: I’m a creep, I’m a loser]

Come As You Are – Nirvana [Relevance: Rojo; Ill always remember riding the Abominable Snow Man at Miracle Strip with you and this song was playing]

Cold – Crossfade

Broken – Seether

It’s So Hard to Say Goodbye to Yesterday – Boyz II Men [Relevance: yftep]

Blister In the Sun [Relevance: Rojo]

Bittersweet Symphony – The Verve

Better Man – Pearl Jam [Relevance: she settled for me.]

Stand By Me – Ben E King [Relevance: I’ll be there for you]

All For You (live) – Sister Hazel

500 Miles – The Proclaimers [Relevance: Rojo]

18 and Life – Skid Row

Yaaaaaaa, so it seems like I really use music to identify feelings there a little bit. Note that most of these songs are from my youth when I was impressionable and more prone to associating music with life events. Now that I’m all growed up, I don’t do it anymore. I spose it’s fairly disturbing I don’t have many for my current wife. But, my wife and family are part of my present I spose, and the point of YFTEP, is that it’s in the past. So I spose the dividing line is between my old life before I even started dating my wife, 15 years ago, and time since then.

What's in YOUR Playlist?

~ by sobriety6923 on September 9, 2010.

4 Responses to “Playlists”

  1. So cool that you did this playlist analysis! When I worked at the hospital, one of my favorite group therapy sessions was to play snips of a variety of different songs and ask the patients to identify how each type of song made them feel! The moral to the story: different types of music can contribute to the way we feel! Same with memories, hear a song from a particularly memorable time in your life and you are instantly taken back!
    Have numerous songs in my mental playlist that speed me back to a momement in time! What is on my ipod, stuff that I can ride and now run to! Some evoke memories, November Rain (sorry go say I didn’t see that as a dedication to moi)

  2. great point about November Rain. At this point I should note that I am not finished with the parsing, nor the adding of songs to the library. November Rain is one of many that haven’t made the list/library yet. but yes, I spose that’ll get the rojo tag.

  3. Was typing a response earlier, stopped to correct a misspell and poof gone! So, I don’t know if it posted or not! Will attempt to find out when I have more time!

  4. Ha! Was able to see that my earlier response did make it! Let me apologize for the misspells that I was attempting to correct when all disappeared.
    Let me try to pick up where I left off…
    I have many mental playlists and if just by chance I was to hear one of those songs my memories are so completely brought back that I feel that I am still in that moment.Anytime one of those strong yet not severe summer thunderstorms pop up and must if possible, play Enigma. Why? Memories I guess from my “exotic past” of a summer afternoon thunderstorm and passionate romp that had it continued would have only intensified beyond belief! Wait a minute, I digress, anyway, summer thunderstorms equals a need to hear Enigma. Upon hearing it, of course memories but an all over sensual feeling comes on. Strange, yes maybe, but true! All of the above blah blah could have been avoided if I would have just said, “I feel ya’ man.”

Leave a Reply

 
