What is God to You?


Srsly, I’m asking you, dear reader. Leave a comment and tell us who/what/why/how your personal God and Jesus is to you.

I’m really struggling with who/what/why/how he/she/it is to me.  The second thing AA wants you to do is give it over to your higher power.  Well, F that, I’m not powerless(see 1st thing AA wants), but if I were to give it over to a higher power, first I have to figure out what my Higher Power is to me.

I’m hoping to look at yours and divine some inspiration from it.

please?

~ by sobriety6923 on October 26, 2010.

20 Responses to “What is God to You?”

  1. God to me is a belief. I do believe that God is a higher power that looks over us and does have a plan for each of us. It gives me comfort to know that there is someone caring for me and guiding my life from afar. It’s nice to know that he will accept your problems and all your faults. I have a strong belief in angels as well. I do believe that God assigns angels to each of us to assist with various aspects of our lives. Everyone has 2 Guardian Angels that make their presence know if life threatening moments. I believe you can speak openly to your angels as well as God.I consider my faith strong however, I am not in church every Sunday. I have a personal relationship with God and my angels everyday, not just on Sundays!
    You need to have an angel reading done! It will open your eyes to the unseen support that us out there!

  2. […] […]

  3. God is my Father, my creator, my reason for being.

  4. God is my comfort. I try to pray everyday, and I go to my small country church each Sunday. Our church spends almost as much time on prayer requests as we do the sermon. I do believe in the power of prayer, and that all of our prayers are answered. It’s just that we don’t always understand those answers.

    This is a recovery site, and I want to share that my best example of a Christian, a God fearing and loving woman, was my grandmother. Her husband got help at AA in the early 40s, and it had a profoundly positive effect on her life. Yes, she suffered many things, and yet she was always a shining light of hope and optimism to us (and still is, though gone).

  5. I do not believe in Religion. I have a relationship with Jesus/God.
    I speak to Him all the time. I pray, I read the Bible to learn more about Him. I have witnessed miracles, as well as the simple things that he promises His children. We have taught our Children about Jesus, and they are growing into wonderful children with a good heart. God has done all this for us. My life would be nothing with out Him. I haven’t even touched on the Eternal aspect of God.

    • ya I’ve got a hard thing with religion too. who’s to say your interpretation of the bible is the ultimate truth? who’s to say the bible is better than the quran? etc, etc, etc…

  6. I was brought up in a southern, religious, BIG, loving family. Not threatened, pounded, taught love and forgiveness, and the golden rule. I’ve strayed, obviously, but not from my belief. It’s as much a part of me as my skin. And the events of the last decade have CONVINCED me there is something after our body dies. I don’t the Bible literally, it was written and translated by man, but the intent, the story, and the purpose, are clear to me. My God is in every good thing I see, not some great and powerful scary figure. And my beliefs are too person to really describe adequately.
    Good luck with your search.
    Ruby

    • the thing I have about examples all around me in my everyday life is that I rationalize them into being just as well any random occurrence. It’s a miracle they survived that car crash! Orrrr, the design of the vehicle was sufficient to withstand the force of the impact such that the occupants were not killed. it depends on your point of view I suppose.

  7. I don’t believe in God. No God, anywhere. With that said, we all have the strength inside of us to stop drinking, or accomplish whatever goals in life we have.

  8. God to me is a higher intelligence, laws of nature, be subservient to others. Common sense.

  9. First of all, I want an angel reading. Right away!! 🙂

    My relationship with God is filled with irony. I cursed Him most of my life, was angry with Him. I felt abandoned by Him. But the bottom line message there is that I had to believe in Him to be angry with Him.

    Why do I belive in Him? There is no way we are an accident. There is no way that the symmetry of mathematics and science and astronomy and history and meteorology and genetics is an accident.

    I do struggle with Neanderthal man and I struggle with dinosaurs. They scream EVOLUTION. But there is no way we evolved from some protozoa. The emotions that humans have, the ability to reason, the ability to invent…all scream CREATION.
    To me, anyway.

    So let’s assume for argument’s sake that we were created. Somebody or something had to do it… why not “God”? I haven’t been presented with another entity that could match “God” in creating us.

    You’re an engineer….think about it……just the genetic code of a human is beyond anything we can fathom, let alone all of the millions of other species on the planet. To think that we all evolved from some galactic explosion of cells? NOT!
    We were created.

    So making these assumptions that we were created and that we have a devine being that’s in charge… it’s not so big of a leap of faith if you break it down.

    Is it “God”? Is it “Allah”? (heaven forbid… no pun intended) I don’t know. I really don’t. I just choose to call my Devine Creator “God” because it’s a term that needs no explanation. Everybody knows who you’re talking about.

    However, even assuming we were created by God (or whoever), I think it takes another leap of faith to then (1) pray to God, (2) hand our troubles over to God, (3) have faith that God hears our pleas, and (4) that God will act upon them.

    That’s a different blog for another day. Peace!

    • ah so. and the peace of mind to accept whatever god’s plan is for us. Bullshit. what if it includes your father and brother dying of alcohol? what if it includes being raped and murdered? what if it includes any number of horrific acts? that’s part of god’s plan? BULLSHIT. oh we just can’t understand what god’s plan is for each of us….BULLSHIT. Ya, I’ll grant if you can create the universe then you’ve got mad skillz, but to plan out the events of over 6 billion living (just at today’s time mind you, never mind the billions that have lived and died before us) people on earth with some great list of “they’ll do this, and this, and this but not that”. BULLSHIT. I have a hard enough time believing in a higher power, but it’s about impossible to believe all this bullshit about “god’s plan” for us.

    • it’s like the Santa Clause Engineer joke. There’s just no fucking way once you break it down.

      Santa Claus:An Engineers Perspective
      I. There are approximately two billion children (persons under 18) in the world. However, since Santa does not visit children of Muslim, Hindu, Jewish or Buddhist religions, this reduces the workload for Christmas night to 15% of the total, or 378 million (according to the Population Reference Bureau).

      At an average (census) rate of 3.5 children per house hold, that comes to 108 million homes, presuming that there is at least one good child in each.

      II. Santa has about 31 hours of Christmas to work with, thanks to the different time zones and the rotation of the earth, assuming he travels east to west (which seems logical). This works out to 967.7 visits per second. This is to say that for each Christian household with a good child, Santa has around 1/1000th of a second to park the sleigh, hop out, jump down the chimney, fill the stockings, distribute the remaining presents under the tree, eat whatever snacks have been left for him, get back up the chimney, jump into the sleigh and get on to the next house.

      Assuming that each of these 108 million stops is evenly distributed around the earth (which, of course, we know to be false, but will accept for the purposes of our calculations), we are now talking about 0.78 miles per household; a total trip of 75.5 million miles, not counting bathroom stops or breaks. This means Santa’s sleigh is moving at 650 miles per second — 3,000 times the speed of sound. For purposes of comparison, the fastest man-made vehicle, the Ulysses space probe, moves at a poky 27.4 miles per second, and a conventional reindeer can run (at best) 15 miles per hour.

      III. The payload of the sleigh adds another interesting element. Assuming that each child gets nothing more than a medium sized Lego set (two pounds), the sleigh is carrying over 500 thousand tons, not counting Santa himself. On land, a conventional reindeer can pull no more than 300 pounds. Even granting that the “flying” reindeer could pull ten times the normal amount, the job can’t be done with eight or even nine of them— Santa would need 360,000 of them. This increases the payload, not counting the weight of the sleigh, another 54,000 tons, or roughly seven times the weight of the Queen Elizabeth (the ship, not the monarch).

      IV. 600,000 tons traveling at 650 miles per second creates enormous air resistance — this would heat up the reindeer in the same fashion as a spacecraft re-entering the earth’s atmosphere. The lead pair of reindeer would absorb 14.3 quintillion joules of energy per second each. In short, they would burst into flames almost instantaneously, exposing the reindeer behind them and creating deafening sonic booms in their wake.

      The entire reindeer team would be vaporized within 4.26 thousandths of a second, or right about the time Santa reached the fifth house on his trip.

      Not that it matters, however, since Santa, as a result of accellerating from a dead stop to 650 m.p.s. in .001 seconds, would be subjected to centrifugal forces of 17,500 g’s. A 250 pound Santa (which seems ludicrously slim) would be pinned to the back of the sleigh by 4,315,015 pounds of force, instantly crushing his bones and organs and reducing him to a quivering blob of pink goo.

      Therefore, if Santa did exist, he’s dead now.

    • ….and because I can’t fathom it….it must not exist.

  10. got a great response from my wife: God to her is the hope of things unseen. At first it’s like wtf does that mean? but then you start thinking about it and the simple elegance of the statement is striking. It’s the hope that there is a point to all this suffering and toil, that someday we’ll see our loved ones again and always be with them. Someday there will be no more heartache or pain and we’ll all be happy. we just can’t see it now and have to have faith in it. the hope of things unseen.

  11. He DOES exist. Some devine creator exists.

    Maybe you’re analyzing it too much. Put your engieering brain on hold. Go outside at night, look at the stars. Maybe go down by the water. Take deep breaths. Let the atmosphere wash over you, the wind. Hear the waves. Feel it!! You gotta dig down deep and feel it.

    You KNOW in your heart that there’s a benevolent creator out there. What would it be like without life? Without planets and the stars? Empty blackness? Can you even imagine the nothing-ness? That’s what I can’t fathom.

    As for my dad and brother….. maybe that IS part of the grand plan. Who am I to say that it isn’t? Besides, God didn’t kill them. Their lifestyle choices killed them. It wouldn’t do me any good to shake my fist at the sky and sarcastically say “Thanks a lot, God.” He shares my sorrow, He didn’t cause it.

    I spent much of my life being bitter. I questioned God, just like you. How could God allow (name some tragic thing) to happen? Is there even a God?

    But after awhile, after letting life fall into place, you realize that things DO happen for a reason. Things work out in the end. It’s so simplistic, but it’s true.

    Things fall into place and you can reflect back on the symmetry of it and a peace will surround you. But you can’t analyze it too much. You’ll make yourself crazy trying to analyze it. You just gotta FEEL it.

    Here I go again, stepping on the toes of YOUR blog. But to make this point, I feel it’s necessary.

    My life hasn’t been filled with the greatest of circumstances. (Understatement of the year.) My parent’s lifestyle left my brothers and I vulnerable to bad things. Bad things happened. My brother who died started drinking when he was nine. NINE.

    At times, it was not a good environment for us kids. (Another understatement.) At other times we lived a normal, middle-class life. But bad things happened and us kids were exposed to things we shouldn’t have been.

    One time I saw a picture of Jesus holding a little girl. The inscription said “Jesus loves the little children.” And I thought to myself — NOT THIS LITTLE GIRL. Nobody loves this little girl.

    But you know what? God loves me. And my parents loved me — they just made bad choices. I’m mad about it, sure. I wasn’t protected. I was left vulnerable to bad things.

    But I choose to look at it like this: God and Jesus love me. God actually protected me. Far worse things could have happened to me than did.

    SO WHY? Why did all this happen?? Maybe so I could share my story? Maybe to help others who have been through similar circumstances? Maybe to help YOU? I dunno.

    Maybe crap just happens….and we can choose to be bitter about it and feel abandoned and think that there’s no God. Or we can look at the bright side, and think damn, I got out of that mess and I’m still standing. I’m still here. Hallelujah!! I think the latter outlook comes with maturity.

    With all of that being said, if you want my humble opinion, I think you need to quit worrying about whether or not there’s a God.

    You just need to get a handle on your drinking. You have a family depending on you. Some day YOUR kids are gonna sit in front of a computer reflecting back on their childhood. What are they gonna say about it?

    Maybe you’re not the kind of guy who can place your burdens at God’s feet. Maybe you need to find another way to get this monkey off your back.

    Don’t let this God debate distract you from the ultimate goal of LIVING A SOBER LIFE. SOBER is the goal. Not a lasting relationship with God (although that would be GREAT) SOBRIETY IS THE GOAL.

    Rock on!! 🙂

    • awesome post mare. you bring up a great point in a non obvious way. point being: God has a plan for each one of us but we don’t always follow it. God’s plan for your brother and father was not what they lived, but he was still there? ya, I can maybe see that. You ever see Vanilla Sky? decent movie despite Tom Cruise being in it. At one point Penelope Cruz has a line “Open your eyes”; if we open our eyes and minds to accept and see then we will? maybe. I’ve heard the saying if we separate ourselves from god then we will be. we have to accept, let god in, yada yada yada….sometimes I want to. other times not so much.

  12. […] What is God to You? October 2010 19 comments 4 […]

Leave a Reply

 
