Jesus Wept


John 11: 35.  know what that is?  19 baby.

Church this morning was just surprisingly enjoyable and useful to me.  I’ve gone from hating it, to tolerating it, to sometimes enjoying it, to this morning just taking note after note about what the preacher was preachin.

John 11 has to do with the death of Lazarus, and at the 35 mark it states “Jesus wept”.  So I’m looking over all of John 11 and I come across that passage, and it’s on a line all by itself, kind of like to emphasize the importance of the action.  then all of a sudden it hit me that John 11:35 was 19.

so of course there was lots of discussion about all of John 11 during class this morning, and all of a sudden it hits me.  I’m ready.  I think I just made step 2.

Came to believe that a Power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity.

just like that.  happened the same way the first step did.  I am powerless over alcohol.  It just happened one day out of the blue.  all the time I had tried to force it, then blammo.  don’t ask how I got from Lazarus dying to jesus crying, to making step 2, but I did.  step 2 baby.

another thing about church this morning….it’s been raining for a couple days here now, and the sermon this morning was on Mark 4:35-41 where the disciples wake up jesus during the storm on the boat b/c they’re afraid they’ll all sink.  well, jesus gets up, tells the wind and water to be still, and that was that.  so now back to the storm….it’s been raining all morning, but as the preacher is doing his thing during the sermon, it starts snowing.  SNOWING.  that wasn’t in the forecast.  freaked this FL boy out.  I just thought it was a cool visual aid god gave the preacher this morning.

so anyway, he wrapped up talking about the passage and storms with this: “Don’t let the storms of life master you, let the master of the storm give you safe passage”.  I paraphrased the last bit there b/c I didn’t write it all down in time before it flew from my memory.  it just all goes back to being at peace and not worrying about this life.  <wait a minute, how’d I get so zen?>  hard thing to do sometimes, but it does bring me a kind of peace knowing that in the end if I do things right I’ll have peace eternal.

~ by sobriety6923 on March 6, 2011.

2 Responses to “Jesus Wept”

  1. Step 2!!! And if you’ve got Step 2, then Step 3 can’t be too far behind!!

    YES!!! THAT’S HUGE!!!!!! YIPPEEEEEEE!!!!!!

    (picture a standing ovation, and it’s for YOU.)

  2. Oh honey, this is a wonderful thing to read. Love you dearly 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
