Ode to Tipper Gore


you’ll have to excuse me, I’ve got something to say. slightly nsfw’ish language to follow; ok…..definitely nsfw’ish language.

you’ll prolly have to click thru to youtube to watch it.

I love swearing.cussing.profanity.whatever.  It’s therapeutic.  I like it.  I LOVE it….like other similar former vices, I’m going to try to walk away from it.  For 16 yrs my wife has made me aware of how much she dislikes my use of profanity, and now that we’ve got kids the problem is of course compounded b/c we don’t need or want our children going around with potty mouths.

But God Damnit, I fucking love to cuss.  Not with great frequency in everyday conversation I guess, but especially when I get pissed, the filters just get ripped off.  But srsly people, you really think god doesn’t know what you mean when you say “dad blame it” or “dad gum” or “gosh darn it”?  Really?  I don’t bother with that shi….err, schtuff.  I just say what I mean.  But I’m gonna try not to.  concious effort and all that.

Something the preacher said in church this morning kind of stuck with me.  It was along the lines of “You don’t really know what’s in a thing until you upset a thing”

There was an incident a couple weeks ago where we were at the beach and my son got stung by a jellyfish.  I was ok at first but then I just completely lost it and the filters came off.  I’m yelling at my wife and she’s staying calm and I’m holding my son and he’s screaming his head off.  So we’re all yelling, then my daughter gets upset and starts crying.  fuc….err, double farts, no wait, sugar honey iced tea.  ya, that’s it.  I apologized profusely after the fact, but stuff like that tends to stick with you women folk.  It’s like you keep a ledger in your mind of every wrong and transgression ever back to when you were little girls.  Us guys?  We say we’re sorry, then we forget about it.  sorry, that’s just the way it is.

anyway, where I’m going with that is that I was reminded of that incident recently, and that, coupled with the lesson this morning just made me realize that ya, let’s go ahead and pile that one on the list too.  Let’s work on the language.  and it’s not just the swearing either, it’s the way I talk to my wife when the gloves come off.  I’m not proud of it, but it’s happened.  I’ve apologized and moved on, but again with the mental ledger.  Of course she loses it with me too, and says things to me I’m not fond of, but I really think she’s tried to work on it.  I need to also.  I love her, and I love my family.  Talking like that is not a good indicator of it.

but, in the meantime….I WANNA HEAR ALL OF YOU SCREAM THE HAIR OFF YOUR NUTS!!!!!

~ by sobriety6923 on March 6, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
