Old Cherokee Legend


An old Cherokee is teaching his grandson about life. “A fight is going on inside me,” he said to the boy.

“It is a terrible fight and it is between two wolves. One is evil – he is anger, envy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, and ego.” He continued, “The other is good – he is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion, and faith. The same fight is going on inside you – and inside every other person, too.”

The grandson thought about it for a minute and then asked his grandfather, “Which wolf will win?”

The old Cherokee simply replied, “The one you feed.”

*****************************

yep. the one you feed.  monkey on your back’s only as big as you feed it.

btw, the pic above is from an artist named Maija.  She does a lot of Southwest scene type art.  This particular frame I’ve loved for a good 20 yrs almost.  It stems from when I lived in Germany while in Highschool and we lived off base in a town called Hutchenhausen; west of Ramstein village and of course Ramstein AFB.  Another kid and I were neighbors and our parents worked on base and we got to be decent friends.  he and I would hang out in the woods just west of town a lot and once right after it snowed we went out there and there was just this one spot where the snow had just clung to everything as it fell and it was just so fantastically beautiful.  This pic reminds me of that.  So, first shout out: Maija. The name of the pic is “Looking for Trouble”

Second shoutout: I don’t know the origin of the parable above with the cherokee and his grandson, but I didn’t know about it till one of the elders at church put it in the church bulletin a few weeks back.  It just kind of resonated with me.  cool stuff.

~ by sobriety6923 on April 17, 2011.

2 Responses to “Old Cherokee Legend”

  1. I too lived in Hutschenhausen, only when I was much younger attending elementary school on base. Haven’t been back yet, and I’ll be in my thirty’s before this is even read. Great place. Funny that I happened on this website, I wasn’t looking for a sobriety site, I was looking up that ol’ village I used to live in. But I coincidentally am awaiting the verdict of my first DWI. August 6th I was arrested and I guess that icing finally sealed the deal, I haven’t had a sip since then (almost three months now). I’ll keep this website in my bookmarks, glad I found it.

  2. good luck on your DWI ogre. start going to meetings and get that 90 day chip? Mine is coming up in two weeks. I carry around that 30 day chip in my wallet as a reminder. When were you in hutchenhausen? I was there 89-92’ish. If you haven’t read it yet, you might mosey on over to my post about new low’s and trap doors. no matter how low you think your lowest is, there’s always a trap door. and congrats on the almost 90 days!

Leave a Reply

 
