The Illusion of the Accepted Way of Doing Things


AA’s a great program.  I’m not disputing that.  What I’m disputing is that it’s the only way.  All you fucking lemmings out there….just give me a cure, a way to do it, so I don’t have to think, just follow the cue cards, and all my problems will be solved.

that said….as an engineer I can appreciate a design  that maximizes the effect (healing) for the greatest number of instances (alkies).  still tho, I hate doing things just b/c other people are doing them.  even when it’s accepted that’s the way it should be done.

turns out I do things as they come to me, in my own way.  no, I’m not sinatra, but I tend to do things my own way, for better or worse.  hopefully in the end they’ll work out ok.

gotta get in another one of my favorite quotes here:

“Fifteen hundred years ago everybody knew the Earth was the center of the universe. Five hundred years ago, everybody knew the Earth was flat, and fifteen minutes ago, you knew that humans were alone on this planet. Imagine what you’ll know tomorrow. ”

btw….the artwork is Rafael’s “The School of Athens”.  The covers are Gun’s & Roses Use Your Illusion I & II, based on the painting.  according to wiki, the figure on GnR’s covers is the only figure in the painting not identified with any specific philosopher.  just sayin.

~ by sobriety6923 on April 25, 2011.

2 Responses to “The Illusion of the Accepted Way of Doing Things”

  1. You a little hard headed? 🙂

    I too prefer to pave my own path. Unfortunately – sometmes that’s meant pushing a boulder uphill for no real good reason. But HEY! At least I figured that out for mymself – right? And I DID get to the top – right? Haha!

    In your post you’re leaning toward relationship with SELF – I’m just not sure you see it yet. What do you want it to be? It can be anything you want. That’s where we have the most power.

    In our actions, conscious or unconscious – we manipulate our environment and that includes other people.

    Best,
    Neftwink

  2. naaaaah, wut me? pffftt, sheesh, pushaw, never. …ya, maybe.

Leave a Reply

 
