You’re like a baby


Inevitably, I’ve come to the point where I’m tired of my job.  The obtw job that let me come back to my family from Asheville after the unpleasantness in Nov 2010.  It’s a great job.  I work with great people.  The pay is great.  So why am I tired of it?  At work I have several different tasks of varying nature to do.  Of course I like some more than others.  Lately it’s been a whole lot of the stuff I’m less fond of.  I once had a wise old engineer describe working as thus:  sometimes you’re eat’n cake, sometimes you’re eat’n liver.  <—ya that.

I’ve had wanderlust for as long as I can remember.  I attribute it to growing up a military brat.  Born in ND, moved to Korea at 5, moved to FL at 7, moved to Germany at 13, moved back to FL at 16, Georgia at 23, Texas at 24, and back to FL at 28.  Been at this location in FL since ’04, but have had 4 different jobs now while here (ya, the brief stint in Asheville is included in that).

I just get that itch, y’know?  It doesn’t help that I’m in kind of a lull at work right now, so my mind has time to wander.  Bad things man.  I start daydreaming about this and that, living here or there, etc…, and I’m completely done with having a freaking office job.  So sick of sitting at a computer all day everyday.  I know, whine whine whine, gimme some cheese to go with it right?  At least I have a job.

I was talking with my wife about it the other night and she suggested I’m like a spoiled child.  As soon as I get to having to do something I don’t like, I start looking somewhere else.  Ya, I kind of agree with that.

I’m the type that could move anywhere and do anything if it suited me.  Once I’m there I’m pretty much a homebody except for nature, but as long as there’s majesty, then I can dig the locale.  My wife of course was raised in one town in the relatively warm south and moving to Alaska just for the view is not on her to do list.  Me?  I get on a mountain biking site and see pics of where people are riding in AK, UT, CO, CA, etc…and start salivating.

So basically I need to nut up and do better at what I’ve got to do here, right in front of me.  None of this self centered bullshit “I don’t like it so I’ll leave” mess.  Self Centered Alcoholic much?  I’ve got a wife, 2 kids, 2 dogs, and a cat to think about now.  Not just me.

But ya, in many ways, still like a child. Or baby, or whatever you want to call it.

And now for your TMI…..deez nutz are doing a lot better, thank you very much.  It’s been a week and I’m not even wearing the jock.

 

 

 

~ by sobriety6923 on January 20, 2012.

4 Responses to “You’re like a baby”

  1. Hand in there. I’m in the same boat, and just realized last night that I need to “man up” and focus on my job instead of wimping out and running away. Your post confirmed it. thanks!

  2. thanks for your honesty. when i get selfish i take my blessings for granted too. can easily slip into that wanderlust mode too. going to meetings helps me

  3. wanderlust….I understand that feeling. I have also been in relationships with men who also suffer from wanderlust! Good luck to you my friend. I look forward to reading more.

  4. […] I’ve never stayed longer than 3.8 yrs at any job in my career.  It’s been a mix of reasons, but a large part of it has been laziness and not being willing to put forth the effort to learn new things and get good at them to become a better engineer.  Just keep doing the same old same old that I can do backwards in my sleep without any effort, or any risk of failing.  that and being a baby.  think I mentioned that a couple posts ago. […]

Leave a Reply

 
