What Price Life?


I work on an Air Force base.  To get on or off base you have to go through a guard gate with barriers that slow you down and whatnot.  It’s usually not that bad but getting off base this evening took a long time.

As I’m pulling up to it I can see the traffic backing up and I decide to go ahead and stay in my lane (the slow one) rather than cheat up in the other lane (the fast one and not the way I’m going) to get back in to skip the BS.  All the while of course staying on the bumper of the car in front of me to ensure other assholes like my normal self don’t cut in front of me.

15 minutes later when I finally get up to the gate I see there’s people in the exit lanes handing out something.  I get up there and it’s the Base Brass handing out cards for the Super Bowl weekend to drive safe don’t drive drunk here’s a number for a free ride if you need it.  huh.  that makes the 15 minutes worth it.

you know how you get when you’re stuck in traffic….ya me too.  But when I finally got up there and it’s a Lt Col handing me a free ride card and telling me face to face to be safe this weekend, ya that was worth it.

So, now for the cost.  We’ll of course use averages, but say I spent about 15 min waiting in the que.  We’ll say there were about a 100 cars stacked up in the back up with only 1 person in them like me. Which of course isn’t accurate but we’ll use it.  That’s 1500 minutes, or 25 hrs of accumulated time wasted in that que.  Then multiply those hours by what everybody’s salaries are.  100 people, avg salary of oh I don’t know, $50 hr, and we’re at $1250.

Small price if only ONE life is saved this weekend as a result of that exercise.  Small Price.

 

~ by sobriety6923 on February 3, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
