Se7en Part Deaux


I did a post on Se7en back in November last year when I was getting close to 90 days.  This’ll be a bit different than that.

Something Is Different

Something is different.  Hit 7 months yesterday.  Where’s the fanfare?  Where’s the 7 month chip?  Good Question.  Don’t need’em anymore.  Month’s 1 thru 6 I needed that feedback, that encouragement.  Like getting a reward for a job well done.  <we claim progress not perfection>  well now, I don’t need that anymore.  I’ve gotten to the point where in my mind it’s something I should be doing anyway, instead of something I should be getting rewarded (chip) for.  I’ve still got the 6 month chip in my pocket.  And of course I’ll keep working to the 12 month chip.  But the monthly affirmation?  nah, getting good enough I don’t need it anymore.  Still need to be wary and keep my guard up not to get too comfortable lest I get side swiped by a craving or a dangerous situation, but ya, still getting better.

7 months sober (210’ish days).  Haven’t had a drink since Aug 16 2011.  Done step 5.  Working/hanging around Step 6.

Hope ur all well.

 

~ by sobriety6923 on March 14, 2012.

9 Responses to “Se7en Part Deaux”

  1. I really enjoy your blog! My husband just got 90 days and it’s so interesting to read about the process from a mans perspective. Congratulations on 7 months!

  2. Keep kicking! Next chip should be at 9 months (at least mine was). I’m just so happy for you, and you seem so much happier! Hmmm…some of that ole “magic” they talk about?

    Congratulations!

  3. Thats awesome! I was so excited about my chips too…but the elusive 1 year medallion seemed like light years away! I got mine Feb 19th, and I carry it with me as a reminder that it can indeed be done! Stay strong!

  4. Great post!! It’s a joy to see you rockin’ this sobriety gig.

  5. Keep your thoughts on today. Congratulations on your sobriety!

Leave a Reply

 
