Almost There


So now we come to it.  Maybe.  Big week this week.  Daughter started 2nd grade last week.  Son got into the same Elementary as daughter like we wanted (we’re out of area and had to get a waiver) and he starts Kindergarten tomorrow.  My 1yr of sobriety is this Wednesday Aug 15 2012 (and it’s 19 too, remember?  8,1,5,2,1,2)….and I may be deciding where I’ll be working/where we’ll be living soon.

Have had plenty of job interviewz schtuff over the last month I’ll just gloss over, but suffice to say, I’ve had a few phone interviews, as well as a couple trips.  1 offer.   I’ve countered the offer and should be hearing on the counter tomorrow, Monday.  Maybe.  They’ll either say yes, no, or maybe.  We shall see.  It will require moving the family, figuring out something to do with the house, putting the kids into new schools, a new church, new, new, new.  I’m terrified.  There’s a time not too long ago I would’ve welcomed the change.  No longer.  Responsibilities of a (sober)husband and father weigh greatly on me.  Have just been trying to stay busy, not allowing my self to think about it.

Been praying a bit more than usual.  Just asking for guidance really.  Lord Guide Me.  Show me the path.  Is this the right choice? Send me a sign.  Oh, and if you do send me a sign, make it obvious enough I’ll realize it, K?  just sayin.  I think there’ve been a few things, but who knows.  Faith or lack thereof is the divider between taking a happening as a sign from God or just random occurrence.

Have been doing good with cravings and the like as well.  haven’t been to many meetings.  know I should go more…..but it’s amazing how much better I’m handling this than I would be drinking. We will be amazed before we are halfway through. (Big Book Pg 83-84 go look it up)  Thank You God.  just, thanks.

~ by sobriety6923 on August 12, 2012.

8 Responses to “Almost There”

  1. Congrats on the offer! And even more congrats on getting through this without drinking. Yeah!

  2. Job offer = yes!
    Sobriety = Yes!
    More Prayer = YES YES YES!!!

  3. Man…I take my hat off. I don’t know you, but I’m proud, and glad, and happy for you and your family. Congratulations. This is a big deal. I hope you celebrate it in a way that puts in all the meaning it’s got, and do it again on every anniversary. Keep working that program. And go to a meeting.

    I can’t tell you how glad I am for you.

    • Hi Still Here – we had a low key dinner at a Japanese Steak House. Kids went there on a school field trip and loved it. Made mommy and daddy promise to take them once I had accepted a job. Which I did. Well, will officially do today, but we went out last night. Thanks so much for your support and tough love along the way.

  4. Hey! Sorry for the delay…congratulations! A wonderful accomplishment! I’m so happy for you. I loved the connection with the number 19 and your one year!

    So happy you stayed for the magic! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
