A lesson for me


there’s a couple guys in my office at my new job in Atlanta that sit adjacent to my cube.  older guys.  salty.  every other word out of their mouths are profanity or disparaging towards someone else.  I’ve only been here at this job in this spot for a month, but it’s already bugging the heck out of me.  I begin to see what annoys my wife so much about me and my foul mouth.

 I like to try and see what the lesson learned can be from situations, rather than just sitting there and being like “oh woe is me”.  So after a while of just being annoyed by these two guys, it hit me.  It’s quite possible that this is an excellent learning opportunity for me.  This is a chance to see another person (or people) the way my wife sees me, has seen me all these years.  Geez, if my wife is anywhere near as annoyed with my potty mouth as I am with these guys, it’s a wonder she didn’t leave me a looooong time ago.  Perseverance of a good woman I guess. +1 for you babe.  soup nazi sez….lots of +1’s for you (don’t forget to roll your R’s)

 Step 6 is becoming ready to have god remove all your characters defects.  Step 7 is asking.  I’m finding that it’s kind of a rolling average type thing where I didn’t just sit down and ask for all at once at the same time, but rather I’m asking as I’m ready.  Well, yay for making steps 6 and 7 for my potty mouth.

 Thanks for the opportunity to learn how my wife sees me.  Thanks for putting up with me babe.

~ by sobriety6923 on October 15, 2012.

2 Responses to “A lesson for me”

  1. I love you mind, body, and soul.

    “I myself am made entirely of flaws, stitched together with good intentions.”
    ― Augusten Burroughs, Magical Thinking: True Stories

    “Nothing’s perfect, the world’s not perfect. But it’s there for us, trying the best it can; that’s what makes it so damn beautiful.”
    ― Hiromu Arakawa, Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 1

  2. Been wondering about you! My husband just got 1 year this week…yeah! Life is good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
