Follow up to “I quit”


Really, what does that mean? What would I be “quitting”?

My job I currently have that I accepted all the responsibility for? Nope, can’t do that.  How else am I gonna bankroll the extravagant lifestyle we lead?

My drinking?  Nope, can’t do that.  There’s no fucking way I could handle this job if I was drinking. My performance is light years away from where it used to be when I was drinking.  I would not be able to handle the sponstilities of this job coming in hungover with the alcohol shits every day like I used to.  Wouldn’t be able to handle the family life either.  Kids after school activiities, kids homework, quality family time in the evenings…..

My life?  ya, no let’s not go there.  Haven’t taken a nose dive that deep in a good ol’ long while so let’s not even look down that road.

Really, I think me saying “I quit” is just another way for me to whine about the blessings and challenges I have to deal with.  I hate quitting, not rising to a challenge.  But, I’ll whine about it a lot along the way too. If I was still drinking, I would’ve prolly quit all those items listed above, so maybe it’s just a hangover from my hangover days.  A remnant of who I used to be as well as that monkey that’s always lingering in the corner in the back of the room.  Just waiting to be fed.

Maybe I should just quit my whining?

~ by sobriety6923 on September 18, 2014.

2 Responses to “Follow up to “I quit””

  1. chin up mate, hope it’s improved

Leave a Reply

 
