Happiness


I’m feeling rare this morning. Very rare. I almost don’t know what to do with myself. I am happy this morning. I’ve been good for a long while now, but today I pegged the scale past +1 (from -1 to +1).

Both kids will be in highschool this year, daughter is a junior and son is an incoming freshman. We live close enough to the HS that we are too close for busses so both kids can either ride a bike or walk to school till they get a license to drive. Daughter doesn’t drive yet, long story, different topic, but it’s all good.

I love to ride my bike. I don’t make enough time to do so but…..I love to ride my bike. My wife and daughter have always been lukewarm when it comes to riding, but at one point when my son was much younger, I had dreams of us out riding trails together on our bikes. I got him a nice bike when he was younger and we hit the trails a couple times but he never really took to it and my dream was smashed. For years I’ve been really bitter about it.

Now he’s in HS tho, he’ll be riding his bike to school, plus he’s in football and they’ve started doing 2 a days. All summer they’ve been doing conditioning and we’ve just been driving him, but last weekend I went and got him a bike, and of course despite my bitterness I could.not.get.a.chainstore.POS. Got him an entry level mountain bike from a bike shop. We went to a shop and he picked one out. At first he liked more of a commuter bike but I was able to lead him more to a mtb (nefarious long term plan : get him riding enough hopefully he really likes it and we start hitting the trails).

So of course morning practice is 6-730am and wife and I aren’t really comfy with him going by himself that early in the morning. Well, I’m usually up early anyway to work from home starting at 7, 730ish so it’s not a big stretch to just get up a little earlier and take him to practice. Yesterday was first day and we went ahead and drove, but this morning he wanted to ride.

HE WANTED TO RIDE YA’LL.

I don’t know if I can describe how good that made me feel. It was like a dream fulfilled. <hold up. you know this was just less than a mile on the sidewalks riding to school right?> ……ya I don’t care. I got to ride with my son. 0530 in the morning riding with him to school and showing him how to lock up his bike, but ya, it was really.freaking.awesome.

It’s been a long road, but I’m learning and getting better at enjoying the trip rather than expecting everything to be good when I finally get to the end. It’s the trip. Make the trip good. Be happy during the trip.

If you wait till the destination to try to be happy, you will have entirely missed the point.

T-13 days till 10 years sober.

Stay Happy My Friends

~ by sobriety6923 on August 3, 2021.

Leave a comment